You want to check out the Queerreferat, but you don't want to go by yourself? Maybe you don't know what to expect and are worried that you won't find anyone to connect with? It's how most people feel when they meet new people or try to reach out to people in the LGBTTIQ* community but don't know where to get started. 

If that's how you feel, get in touch with one of our Buddies! Our Buddies can answer all of your questions about the Referat. Furthermore, they can meet you at any time either at a café or at the Referat when it is closed. This way you can get an impression of us and already get to know someone to take along to your first visit. We want to make your first experience as easy and enjoyable as possible. All of our Buddies are happy to be in touch with you regardless of your sexuality or gender.

Feel free to get in touch with us any time at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Currently, only online events are taking place on Discord and Instagram due to the corona pandemic. However, you can also write to a buddy to not go to the events alone.

 

Hongyi

Hello, my name is Hongyi. I’m studying computer science at RWTH and I’m in my 4th semester. I was born in China, but also speak Japanese. I’ve been volunteering at the Queerreferat for two years now, including one year where I was elected to the board. I live together with my girlfriend in inner-city Aachen. I’ve been out as non-binary for a year and as lesbian for 4 years (including to my parents). I hope that I can help other people with the knowledge I have gathered.

 

Lukas

Hello, my name is Lukas, 21 years old, gay and I’m studying Mechanical Engineering in Aachen. I am always happy and interested in many different activities. I’m part of the Referat for more than one year now. Everybody was nice to me from the beginning and I was able to feel comfortable very quickly. Today, I found several good friends there. In the Referat everybody gets the chance to talk to each other, to play some games or to drink coffee in a pleasant environment. But I do know, that it’s not easy to come to the Ref for the first time and alone. That’s why I want to help you with that.

 

Nico

Hio! My name is Nico. I am currently 25 years old. I have been studying Computer Science at FH Aachen since the winter semester 2019. I joined the Ref in my 3rd semester at the beginning of the 2nd Corona lockdown. Unfortunately, I didn't get to experience the Ref at its peak, but this has not stopped me from meeting new people and participating in diverse events online. In my free time, I like to binge on series, cook, play party games with my friends. I would describe myself as sensitive, helpful and a mixed-up night owl. From my own experience I can say that the first contact can cost quite an effort, so see this as motivation to reach out to us without any obligations. I am always happy when I can help people.

Romina

Hey there! My name is Romina and I'm 25 years old. I started studying German and Theology to become a teacher in winter 2013. Still I only found the courage to visit the Ref in the autumn of 2017 because I wasn't sure whether I "belonged" there or not (turns out I totally do! And btw: That's absolutely irrelevant because no one forces you to label or out yourself here.) That's why I can totally understand that it can be scary to come alone. I'd love to help making this step much easier and if it's the same for you as it was/is for me then the Queerreferat will soon feel like a second home to you! In my free time I enjoy cooking, writing and singing. I'm also part of a theatergroup, a self declared series junkie and like meeting up with my friends. I would describe myself as a communicative und (hopefully) empathic person, who enjoys laughing as much as talking about serious subjects.

Sven

Hey, I'm Sven. I grew up in the Eifel, did my master's degree in computer science at the RWTH and am now working at the Fraunhofer IPT as a research assistant. I came out as gay in 2012 and since then I have changed a lot, but I have always tried to stay true to my family and my friends. As a fag and as a manly acting Enby-person I try to make the world a better place and create an open space for everyone. Besides, I like to go to the contact jumping and Zirekltraining, I like to play board and video games as well.